You gotta go there to come back

During the weekend I’ve been busy with packing all my stuff, sort what I want to take with me to Berlin and what I don’t need anymore: I think I’m at a really good point but I realized I still didn’t explain very well why I’m moving.

Everything you always wanted to know about my relocation to Berlin*
It was hard to find a song to name this post after. I first thought about Jump by Madonna, because of these lyrics

There’s only so much you can learn in one place
The more that I wait, the more time that I waste
I haven’t got much time to waste, it’s time to make my way
I’m not afraid of what I’ll face, but I’m afraid to stay
I’m going down my own road and I can make it alone
I’ll work and I’ll fight, till I find a place of my own

But it wouldn’t have been fair to Amsterdam: although many people think I didn’t enjoy myself here (and I guess it’s my fault, ’cause I apparently gave them this impression), I’ve been really happy to work and live in the Netherlands. I really loved every single moment of my experience here: if I could turn back time, I still would choose to move here, I don’t regret absolutely anything, rather the contrary, I’ve been able to dig into my personality a bit further. A couple of weeks ago I was chatting with Desi who was realizing how positively Amsterdam changed me. But somehow I still didn’t close my Berlin chapter…
For one moment I even considered You’re the Reason I’m Leaving by Franz Ferdinand because I was listening to it a couple of days ago, but there’s no particular reason why I’m leaving, there are only reasons why I’m going to Berlin… Yes, I know the difference is subtle… Of course I’ve been missing in Amsterdam the mix of anarchy and order of Berlin or I was sometimes considering Amsterdam as fake as Legoland for it’s utterly beautiful, tiny and cute. A kawaii-city :mrgreen: But those are not really reasons to leave. The main reason why I’m moving to Berlin is that I found a very good and challenging job in a business I really love, social networking, I can’t wait to start. Actually, I’m really going to miss (in random order):

  • Kipsate
  • Schudde Buikjes
  • Vla
  • AllerHande
  • Hema
  • Amsterdam Centraal
  • Prins Hendrikkade
  • Nederlandse Spoorwegen Logo
  • Westerpark
  • My bike Paula’s fiets
  • Begijnhof
  • The American Bookstore
  • Plantage
  • Nemo
  • Het IJ
  • Openbare Bibliotheek Amsterdam
  • Maastricht
  • Leiden
  • Dutch landscapes
  • Dutch mountains :mrgreen:
  • Of course all my friends who live here

Eventually I chose my favorite Stereophonics album to name this post after, the meaning of which I lately truly understood: sometimes you really gotta go there to come back.

So maybe tomorrow
I’ll find my way home

*But were afraid to ask

One thought on “You gotta go there to come back

Comments are closed.