Articles

Viva la vida

In Life on May 20, 2008 by Pino

This post is to celebrate the upcoming album by Coldplay, Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends, and its title song shortly released as single and already on top of many charts worldwide. I didn’t think it was possible but Coldplay are probably going to score another masterpiece: I wouldn’t expect less by a record produced by Brian Eno. Viva la Vida, for instance, has a graceful melody and some interesting lyrics:

I used to rule the world
Seas would rise when I gave the word
Now in the morning I sweep alone
Sweep the streets I used to own
I used to roll the dice
Feel the fear in my enemy’s eyes
Listen as the crowd would sing:
Now the old king is dead! Long live the king!

I’m writing this post also to summarize my last day week month during which I didn’t (mini)blog anything.

Work
My job is really challenging and I’m always very busy in the office, last month even on Saturdays. This is a good reason for not blogging much lately. Actually I have to blog for my company too and I don’t have much time for it either:mrgreen: The most important thing, anyway, is that I really love my job and I’m very satisfied with it. Surprisingly I’m even happy in the morning when I can go to the office. No jokes.

Japan
I think I never blogged about Noein, a Japanese anime strongly influenced by physics theories of the last century. After all, it was a nice time spent in front of my mac, but now I’m very happy to watch Code Geass every weekend although I’m missing NANA a lot.
I’m also taking Japanese classes which are really interesting: I already learned almost all the hiragana (I miss the last 16 symbols I have to memorize before tomorrow) and how to introduce myself:
はじめまして、わたし は ピノ です。どうぞ よろしく。
For a strange coincidence, my classroom is used during the day to teach physics and it’s nicely decorated with atom models posters, famous physicists pictures and so on:mrgreen:

Love
I know there have been some rumors about my love-life for which I’m mainly responsible. Well, let me explain it this way: in the last months I’ve been spending a lot of time with my friends Manni and Christian… You may probably say that I love triangles, but, you know, geometry is not a crime:mrgreen:

Family
My sister Giovanna and my mom visited me almost two weeks ago and we had a nice time together, especially because of the gorgeous hot weather (hot for me, at least). We were supposed to go by train to Stralsund and to the island of Rügen but we ended by spending some time at the Karneval der Kulturen on With Sunday. It was really funny and now I’m even more in the mood of celebrating Christopher Street Day in late June. Speaking of which, I feel sorry for Italians… mmm, no, actually I don’t… But I complained with my sister: how can she vote for Lega Nord, which wants ethnic cleansing of gays, while she has a gay brother?

Friends
Last weekend Jörg visited me and I hope he enjoyed his time here (DSDS apart:mrgreen: ). He was so nice to help me also with the last part of my relocation too: I’m really grateful!
Currently I’m also trying to find a not too expensive flight to New York City to visit ilGrisa before he moves to Amherst: I’m scared by the hot summer there, but I’m really looking forward to stroll around Manhattan again.

2 Responses to “Viva la vida”

  1. Don’t worry about the heat … this May is pretty cold, and only a couple of days were truly warm. If you came in June, you shouldn’t feel too much of the heat (which peaks in July and August).

  2. It was good seeing you and being back in Berlin again. I had fun together with your friends, including DSDS (don’t worry).

Comments are closed.

