People are strange

As I said in the previous post, I had a lot to do in the office on Thursday: I was anyway supposed to stay a bit longer and go to the cinema with Erik to watch Mio Fratello È Figlio Unico, but I though I could have used the extra time to blog, browse on Internet or eat a little bit; eventually I had to work until the last minute available to be in time at the appointment. When I was picking up my bike it was raining like hell (does it rain in the hell?) and I was swearing in all the possible languages: if only I could have left 5 minutes earlier I could have avoided the shower. So ein Pech! 😡 Despite the averse weather conditions, the homeless woman who uses to be on the bridge close to my office was singing her song of the day:

People are strange when you’re a stranger,
Faces look ugly when you’re alone.
Women seem wicked when you’re unwanted,
Streets are uneven when you’re down.

I was expecting her to sing all songs but those by The Doors! It was a really weird feeling: I still feel like a stranger in Amsterdam and I especially feel other people eyes on me, peering at me, checking what I’m doing, how and why and how dressed… But

When you’re strange
Faces come out of the rain.
When you’re strange
No one remembers your name.

I really miss Jim! Jim come back! I used to visit his grave in Paris some years ago, but it has been a while since my last time at Père Lachaise…

The movie was great; I especially loved Accio’s mother who looked like mine: simple and desperate, but intrepid and determined. The audience was really amused, as if the movie were funny, which is why I was wondering whether foreigners couldn’t understand how realistic it was. Erik told me yesterday that, actually, that was exactly the image Dutch have about Italians: dramatic.
The most funny thing was after the movie: we had a drink together (if tea is a drink) in the cafe of the cinema when a gentle female voice announced

In a couple of minutes we’re going to show you the movie Mio Fratello… Mio Fratello… en dan nog wat (=…and something)

Too funny! Also the movie’s soundtrack deserves a mention, with Nada’s successes: Ma Che Freddo Fa (also featured in La Finestra Di Fronte) and Amore Disperato (please compare her hairstyle in the two clips).

One thought on “People are strange

  1. Always wonder about how much foreigners can grasp of Italy and still think not much. Point is that if one consider Japan, Japanese culture would be trivially considered foreigner, almost alien. But about Italian? I think they think to be able to understand even though they’re not.

Comments are closed.