In the shadows

I’m back in Amsterdam, back in English language (sort of), back blogging… I just wonder when or whether I’m going forward.

Sometimes, I feel that I should go and play with the thunder
Somehow, I just don’t wanna stay and wait for a wonder
I’ve been watching, I’ve been waiting
In the shadows for my time
I’ve been searching, I’ve been living
For tomorrows all my life

My last 10 days in a nutshell:

  • Stefano was visiting but I didn’t feel very comfortable with him 😦 We’re definitively different and I’m not willing to look for compromises. I know it’s quite rude especially because I owe him a lot: without him I couldn’t have survived the college year we spent together. Am I changed that much? I’m probably the misanthrope I’ve always been.
  • Together with Stefano, I visited Maastricht: thanks to LonelyPlanetwhich suggested a daytrip over there, I discovered one of the most beautiful Dutch cities. Actually it doesn’t look Dutch at all, it’s more a mix of French and German styles. While I was buying postcards:

    Saleswoman: Do you speak English, French or German?
    Me: Ehm… all of them :mrgreen:
    Saleswoman: Me too!
    Me: Ik begrijp ook een beetje Nederlands (= I also understand Dutch a little bit)
    Saleswoman: So sagen nur die Deutsche, Deutsch spreche ich auch: € 2,75 bitte. (= Only Germans pronounce it that way, I also speak German: € 2,75 please)

  • I started my Dutch language course, which is really intensive, but also rewarding. I like the teacher, Fien, a really nice Dutch woman who speaks clearly and gives me a lot of compliments 😉 My best friend at the course is Anne, from Finland (this is why I chose a Finnish song for this post). There is also a big Turkish group of people working for the same bank, two of them are even married with each other and another one, Akon, is sooo hot! 😛 A Canadian girl, Nathalie, is also very nice and interesting. We are a good group, definitively.

Btw, I really have to go to the third lesson! I will blog again later or tomorrow… You favorite worst nightmare is back!

2 thoughts on “In the shadows

  1. For a “favourite worst nightmare” you’re damn cute I must say 🙂 And looking at pictures that show you in company with other people certainly does not give the impression of you being a misanthrope. You just get along better with a selected group of people, not just everybody. But that’s not wrong, is it?! 😉
    Good to read you like Maastricht. So I was not wrong it would be different.
    Groetjes,
    Guido

Comments are closed.