Articles

Running up that hill

In Life, Travels on October 29, 2007 by Pino

Unter den Linden by haikusYesterday I went to Amersfoort, a city half an hour by train from Amsterdam, in the Utrecht province: as you know, this is part of Discovering the Netherlands project I started last week. Because the rail line to Amersfoort doesn’t pass by Sloterdijk, the closest train station, I went by bike to Centraal Station where is even almost impossible to find a place to park! Luckily I caught the direct train in time and I reached very fast my destination. Funnily enough I passed several times by Amersfoort when I traveled by train between Amsterdam and Berlin, which is why I knew the route very well… too well…😥 The city centre is a very charming place, although I had the feeling I’ve been already there: this is unfortunately the problem of Dutch cities, which have their own spirit, of course, but as far as I’ve seen, they look more or less the same. Exceptions are notably Amsterdam, of incomparable beauty and Rotterdam, a mix of Berlin, Hamburg and Ducth stereotypes. The shops in Amersfoort were open yesterday and a lot of people, even more than in Den Haag, were strolling around, making my visit very pleasant. Although Lonely Planet authors like the Vrouwenhof more, I personally prefer the bigger and more colorful Hof: not far from there is the Groenmarkt with this nice cafe the name of which let me think again about Berlin. After a portion of french fries😛 I was going back to the train station when I saw a shop I should never have seen: Dille&Kamille. Back in Amsterdam I had to fight against the wind (even stronger than in Amersfoort) to bike home and, as result, I got a huge headache😦

It doesn’t hurt me.
You want to feel, how it feels?
You want to know, know that it doesn’t hurt me?
You want to hear about the deal I’m making.
You, (If I only could, be running up that hill)
You and me (If I only could, be running up that hill)

And if I only could,
Make a deal with God,
Get him to swap our places,
Be running up that road,
Be running up that hill,
Be running up that building.
If I only could

Comments Off on Running up that hill

