Articles

Suddenly I see

In Travels on September 17, 2007 by Pino

I spent last weekend in Brussels (I’m going to use the English name throughout the post to avoid the double French/Flemish, Bruxelles/Brussel) for two reasons: finally visiting my Italian-Belgian friend Vincent and the city where he’s living, during the European heritage days.
Funnily, when I wrote for two reasons I remembered this part of the movie Kill Bill vol. 1:

As I said before… I’ve allowed you to keep your wicked live for two reasons. And the second reason is, so you can tell him, in person everything that happened to you tonight. I want him to witness the extend of my mercy by witnessing your deformed body. I want you to tell him all the information you’ve just told me. I want him to know what I know. I want him to know what I want him to know. And I want them all to know, they’ll all soon be as dead as already.

I’m sick, I know:mrgreen: Somehow I can’t write a post without some quote…
Anyway, back to the main subject: I was in Brussels, as I said, and I had great time. The city is lovely, hilly and dotted with art nouveau buildings (e.g. from Victor Horta); but Brussels is at its best in the food shops😛 We went to Marcolini to buy some fine chocolate (I had two Java blends with lemon/orange and with pepper/spices): omg, I could have died there. Later we bought some teas and tea related products (like a black tea jelly with rose flavour or a chestnut jam with green tea) at Le Palais des Thés, a chain I already loved in Paris… Mmm, I definitively need to go to Paris: shopping there is much more fun than everywhere else😉 But Brussels is a nice option too.
Because of the European heritage days, the city was full of tourists and it wasn’t always pleasant to stroll around but the Grand Place/Grote Markt was really worth the visit: in a very small place some of world’s finest buildings, amazing.

Comments Off on Suddenly I see

