Number 1

I couldn’t find any suitable song for this post and I simply took the first title I randomly found on my iPod 😉

Cos you’re my Number 1
I’m like a dog to get you
I want it up and on
I’m like a dog to get you

Yesterday afternoon I was supposed to write something more than the previous post but I didn’t find the time and I probably didn’t feel like blogging either.
Lately I’m quite frustrated by the IT-world: yesterday I even had to restart my iMac (after 45 days of continuous proud service, he finally needed some refresh) :mrgreen: On the other hand I don’t remember how many times I already had to restart my laptop running WindowsVista for all the possible reasons on earth. Today I was asked to change my password intuitively done by following this sequence:

Logon screen
Old Password
OK
Your Password has exprired
OK
Logon screen
Cancel
Switch User (I obviously didn’t switch the user, I’m the only one on my laptop, but it was necessary to click then on)
Giuseppe
Logon screen
Old Password
Your Password has exprired
New Password
Repeat New Password
(Suddenly the OK button disappeared leaving place for a bigger Cancel button and a) Right Arrow

Result: 9 useless and absolutely not intuitive steps more than expected. Even on WindowsXP was easier! No comment.
Another intuitivism champion is Yahoo! I actually avoid all their services but it happened that they bought flickr some years ago and now I have to deal with them… First problem: censorship. Some strange rules don’t allow German flickr members to access some questionable content and how could I convince flickr I’m not in Germany anymore? Well, creating a new (US based) account. The point is that I wasn’t able to see any pictures of one of my friends just because a couple of them are questionable. Not happy enough, flickr decided to block my access to Erik’s photostream (who recently joined the platform) for a couple of days. Reason: unknown.
Going to the post office to pick up a parcel sent by mom didn’t help my mood to improve: the postman complained because I didn’t have my plastic ID. Plastic ID? Italians don’t have plastic ID (yet). Bugger.

One thought on “Number 1

  1. Oh that (the plastic ID startling thing) happened all the time when I handed my Italian ID. They startled looking at it, not knowing what to do and ask “Don’t you have a photo ID?”, my answer “Open” (idiot is usually thought.)
    Result … I got an American ID and all problems disappeared!

Comments are closed.