Articles

XVII

In Life, TV&Movies on August 17, 2007 by Pino

Today is Friday the 17th, an unlucky day, says the Italian tradition: should I believe in it? Perhaps I should avoid both Friday, the 13th and the 17th… Just to be sure, you know…😉
Among the many explanations why the 13 should be unlucky, this is the one I like the most:

Thirteen may be considered a bad number simply because when a group of 13 objects or people is divided into two, three, four or six equal groups, there is always one leftover, or unlucky, object or person.

On the other hand I’m quite sure that 17 (is the number of syllables in a haiku) is unlucky because written as XVII in roman numerals, which is an anagram of vixi = I lived = I’m dead. Tricky, isn’t it?:mrgreen:
Anyway, I usually don’t have bad luck on Friday, the 17th (but the day is still long), maybe because I’m unlucky enough during the other days of the year:mrgreen:
Miss Felica Traske has lately been so lucky to find the name of god written on a slice of aubergine… I always despised aubergines. Pfui.

Anyway, speaking about food… yesterday I had to tidy up all the delicious things that my sister brought from Italy: almost 9 liters of different olive oils from Sicily (my favourite), Tuscany and Apulia; balsamic vinegar; taralli; pizzocheri; friselle; pane carasau, and many other things I don’t remember right now. Mmm, so delicious! I guess I’m going to organize a dinner with Italian food anytime soon😛

After dinner I watched with her and her friend Simone a bit of Dutch TV and what did I find? Heroes🙂 Luckily one of the best episode: Homecoming. I also found out that, obviously, when Hiro speaks, there are only Dutch subtitles! Well, I don’t mind… I’m not going to wait for the Dutch version anyway…

5 Responses to “XVII”

  1. I read “Gio” on the eggplant.

  2. Me too…

  3. I thought it was GID. Anyway it definitely is not god. Miss Felica Traske should find some mental help or an eye doctor.

  4. I finally found the original news here
    The eggplant (thanks Luca for remembering the American word for aubergine) is probably going to be sold on ebay: keep an eye open on the auction of the day:mrgreen:

  5. Oh my! I ought to have it!

Comments are closed.

