Articles

Tales from Earthsea

In TV&Movies on July 31, 2007 by Pino

After the movie Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix and the book Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, I was in the mood for some fantasy books again (though I don’t really like that genre) and I thought at the Earthsea series from Ursula K. Le Guin: I read, when I was younger, the first book, A Wizard of Earthsea, and I liked it a lot.
Last week when I was at the American Bookshop in Amsterdam I looked for the other books but I found only her recent (sci-fi) novels.
I searched then on the web for more information about Le Guin and her books, when I discovered that Sci-Fi channel adapted the series for TV leaving the author really disappointed by the result:mrgreen: I downloaded anyway the 2 TV episodes but I didn’t watched them yet and somehow I also forgot the project of reading the books…
But Earthsea didn’t disappear from my life that easy. Somehow I saw on a Dutch TV magazine the review of the new anime by 宮崎吾朗 (Gorō Miyazaki, Hayao’s son): I didn’t care about the movie’s title neither about the review, I just recorded in my mind to look for it on… you know where😀
Anyway… I found the movie (ゲド戦記, Tales from Earthsea) and I slowly realized… Mmm… Earthsea? Sounds familiar… Well, yes, Miyazaki adapted the novels for his first anime.
Le Guin is again disappointed by the result as you can read on her website. I don’t have my opinion yet but I’m going to watch the anime this evening or anytime soon.

Una coincidenza è sempre una coincidenza
Mentre dietro una combinazione ci può essere una cassaforte

3 Responses to “Tales from Earthsea”

  1. Try His Dark Materials trilogy by Pullman. I heard good things about it and bought all three books but yet didn’t start any of them.
    For what I heard and read, it’s considered a more adult and deep fantasy than – say – The Narnia Chronicles.

  2. I thought you were unwired for awhile😉
    Thanks anyway for your suggestions…

  3. I’m sort of. Namely I’m not 100% in front of a screen and a keyboard and my use depends heavily on when I can get to the library or when an anima pia let me use their laptop.
    Not having a laptop is seen like a curse or something. “Sorry to have let my computer (and camera) be stolen”

Comments are closed.

