Articles

Scarlet’s walk

In Travels on March 21, 2007 by Pino

Weekend in the Netherlands, part 2: Sunday.
Because Dutchmen are not enlightened (never forget it, even if my mom doesn’t complain anymore now), they have since 1932 the Boekenweek (books week) during which people get a given book for free when buying one. This particular book (this year was De Brug by Geert Mak) can be even used as a train ticket to travel everywhere in the country on the last day of the books week. So clever!
Erik, Jörg and I decided then to visit Rotterdam, Europe’s largest port, ’cause I love ports (not only ship unloaders😛 ). The journey by train via Haarlem, Leiden and Den Haag was pleasant but unfortunately the weather in Rotterdam was utterly bad (windy, cold and it hailed too) which is why I had a sore throat on Monday. Actually I enjoyed it very much because the cold and wet weather can give a very special aura to an harbor: a feeling of distance, of melancholy, of distant memories…
The most exciting moment of our visit was when we crossed the river with the water taxi to reach the New York Hotel: I frightened I was going to fall into the water (and I’m sure I was not the only one) but the afternoon tea I had there was worth it.
In the evening we traveled again by train to Utrecht, a very sweet city we visited very quickly, where we had a delicious tapas’ dinner. Later, Jörg had his train back to Zwolle while Erik and I ours to Amsterdam (via Breukelen, the town after which Brooklyn is named).

4 Responses to “Scarlet’s walk”

  1. Breukelen basically my third home! I gotta go there!
    Anyway for scaricatore you can use unloader.

    About the free ride. Is it because Holland is big as Lombardy? Probably smaller? It may be as such a claim as to say that Norway has the best wealth in the world: thanks! They’re roughly 6 millions plus oil …

    I don’t want to go polemic … it’s getting easier these days. mmmh gotta find the time to get you on skype.

  2. Welcome in the hysteria-club😉
    Anyway, I said the same thing to Erik and Jörg, but in a less polemic way. The point is: if I could have a free ride to visit Mantova in the morning and strolling on the mura venete in Bergamo in the evening… why not? And even here in Germany: if I could visit Berlin and Brandeburg for free, it would be nice.

  3. Sure it’d be great. But it’s unlikely to happen, because trains at least in Italy are not regional but national– if you don’t want to take “le Nord” which anyway are for North of Milan up to Varese.

  4. Oh, it’s anyway easy to find a solution… Going to the train station and get a special regional ticket for example.

Comments are closed.

