Articles

Citizen erased

In Life, Travels, TV&Movies on March 13, 2007 by Pino

I spent the first weekend of march in Italy: I had a very profitable meeting with a media agency and a publisher on Friday, while I had to answer phone calls and emails during the whole afternoon (because of the infamous presentation, which is, finally, ready).
OK, I admit it, I was also at laFeltrinelli bookshop, FNAC, laRinascente and MUJI which had a lot of interesting sales offers (good, very good for my personal satisfaction; bad, very bad for my bank account😉 ).
In the evening I met Fabio, as usual, and we went to Brek for dinner and to the cinema Odeon to watch the movie Saturno Contro by Ferzan Ozpetek

I was quite disappointed by the movie, after Le Fate Ignoranti and La Finestra di Fronte, Ozpetek didn’t find any better inspiration😦 . At least he’s far away from the previous one, Cuore Sacro, which was simply terrible (Umbè, so che a te è piaciuto: mi spieghi perfavore cosa c’è di bello in quel film?). In Saturno Contro there are too many characters and it’s impossible to define them thoroughly enough in a couple of hours. But maybe this is the point: showing simply complicated life. If only the movie wasn’t so absurdly… funereal… Here the best quote:

Minnie: Anche lei è così?
Sergio: Così come?
Minnie: Come loro, come lui insomma.
Sergio: Addolorato?
Minnie: Nooo, gay.
Sergio: Gay io? No, io sono frocio.
Minnie: Ah, ecco. Ma non è la stessa cosa?
Sergio: Sì, ma io sono all’antica.

On Saturday Stefano and Valentina visited me and in the evening the most exciting thing I did was watching the lunar eclipse (look at some pics here, by Umbè).
On Sunday (the last day, hurrà) I was with my sisters on Como’s lake

Quel ramo del lago di Como, che volge a mezzogiorno, tra due catene non interrotte di monti, tutto a seni e a golfi, a seconda dello sporgere e del rientrare di quelli, vien quasi a un tratto, tra un promontorio a destra e un’ampia costiera dall’altra parte; e il ponte, che ivi congiunge le due rive par che renda ancor più sensibile all’occhio questa trasformazione e segni il punto in cui il lago cessa, e l’Adda ricomincia per ripigliar poi nome di lago dove le rive, allontanandosi di nuovo, lascian l’acqua distendersi e rallentarsi in nuovi golfi e in nuovi seni…

for a promenade. It was very relaxing and for an instant I thought the world was perfect and I didn’t have any problems and everything was beauty. Lucky me it lasted for just few seconds…

4 Responses to “Citizen erased”

  1. i have to learn italian😦

  2. No, it’s not you’re fault😉 But those quotes are too Italian to be translated (especially the second one).

  3. Minnie: Are you alike?
    Sergio: Like what?
    Minnie: Like them, like him.
    Sergio: Sad?
    Minnie: Nooo, gay.
    Sergio: I’m not! I am a fag.
    Minnie: But is it not the same?
    Sergio: Sure, but I am old-fashioned.

    btw it took me a day to understand the “lei” is formal you and not “she”!

    And for the other excerpt:
    THAT branch of the lake of Como, which extends towards the south, is enclosed by two unbroken chains of mountains, which, as they advance and recede, diversify its shores with numerous bays and inlets. Suddenly the lake contracts itself, and takes the course and form of a river, between a promontory on the right, and a wide open shore on the opposite side. The bridge which there joins the two banks seems to render this transformation more sensible to the eye, and marks the point where the lake ends, and the Adda again begins—soon to resume the name of the lake, where the banks receding afresh, allow the water to extend and spread itself in new gulfs and bays.

    Giuseppe, don’t look at me like that! I didn’t translate Manzoni’s Promessi Sposi but simply looked online: http://www.bartleby.com/21/

  4. […] a blog just to talk about this show Ambra had a really nice part in the last movie by Ozpetek, Saturno Contro, and she’s in love with Francesco Renga (former leader of Timoria). Yvonne became famous […]

Comments are closed.

