I’m not German

When I was in Rome last week, I had a curious conversation with some people from TIM (Telecom Italia Mobile):

tim guy: Oh, of course you’re German, aren’t you?
me: Ehm… no…
tim girl (before I could answer): No! His name is Italian, he’s obviously… Italo-German!
me: No guys, I’m 100% Italian, born in Bergamo, from Italian parents, I lived in Caprino Bergamasco and Pavia before I relocated in Berlin 3,5 years ago.
tim guy: No way! You have a German accent! You breathe like a German!
me: Do I have German accent? And what does it mean that I breathe like a German?
tim guy: Yes you do have German accent and when you speak you take breaks like a German does…

I didn’t reply any further: for people from Rome and Naples my Northitalian accent could indeed sound crucco (=German) and I did some breaks while speaking with them because I didn’t always remember the right Italian word to explain my concepts.
But yesterday I talked at the phone with some other people (with whom I never had contacts before) and they said:

You’re German, aren’t you?

No! I’m not German (yet, I still need to live here 5 more years to become German)!

4 thoughts on “I’m not German

  1. Don’t deny it: you’re German! 125% German.
    All right … they’re Roman so they’ve an awful accent, hence can’t understand the beauty beneath our northern accent.

    But I must stress: your accent is definitely not German!

  2. LOL, you see I told you so, hahahahaha…

    But isn’t any accent north of the river Po German for Romans?

    By the way the breathing thing explains everything now. People here in The Netherlands still (after 22 years of living here) notice that I’m from Germany. I think it is because of the German breathing LOL!!!

  3. Northern accents are usually very different to one another. For instance Turin accent would sound like French, while Milanese – my accent – may sound either like French or like German, depending on stresses and what word one uses. Northeastern accents are terribly different to Northwestern accents, like Turinese and Milanese, and sound more like … uhm I don’t know.

    But, Joerg, I should realize Giuseppe is from Bergamo area and they’re famous for a close accent, even though Giuseppe doesn’t have a strong Bergamo accent.

    Anyway Roman accent is awful!

  4. I guess that Jörg knows quite well the Northeastern accents 😉
    Anyway, I agree with Luca on every point but one… The Roman accent is cute (please don’t discuss anymore about this point, I’m right as usual and you’re utterly wrong)!
    We could maybe start talking about the Italian dialects 😉 From the Friulano to the Sardo and Siciliano
    About the German breathing I don’t have any clue but I’m thinking that maybe Italians do speak faster than Germans: I should ask Fabio who is expert in fast speaking.

Comments are closed.