Ironic

This was originally the title of the previous post, which was not completed because I was too tired 😉 .

To summarize: people says I undergo menstruation, people says I’m dramatic, people says I’m hysteric, people says I’m misanthrope, people says I’m cynical… Yes, I am.

Some boys kiss me, some boys hug me
I think they’re o.k.
If they don’t give me proper credit
I just walk away

They can beg and they can plead
But they can’t see the light, that’s right
’cause the boy with the cold hard cash
Is always mister right, ’cause we are

Living in a material world
And I am a material girl
You know that we are living in a material world
And I am a material girl

Since I’m back from Italy (a post about my business trip will follow shortly), I’m really busy at work for the reason I already mentioned and next week is going to be even worse due to the big backlog in my inbox 😦 . Forza Pino!

I was planning to talk a bit about my last days but I actually forgot what I did 😀 . Mmm… Wednesday the ENT-doctor checked whether I was allergic to some pollen but she didn’t find anything interesting (I’m probably just allergic to people).

Any means in your horizon
Heaven in a tourniquet
The afterlife to keep your eyes on
bitter pill you take today
With expert levitation forward,
polished to the nth degree,
it takes it’s smile from every children,
you take the beating

Later, I was at the embassy for the new passport; I thought it wouldn’t have taken a lot of time: bring a couple of passport pictures, fill a form, pay and be told to pick the new document in a couple of weeks (or months). But something surprising happened: the carabiniere told me to wait. And I waited… 15 minutes… half an hour… The plumber called me at the phone: he was going to be at my place in 30 minutes for the yearly boiler’s checkup… What the hell was the embassy employee doing with my passport? After other 15 minutes I had my answer… and my new passport too! Cool, a new passport in 45 minutes?
Thursday… Thursday is a black hole for my memory 😉 What did I do on Thursday? Probably something even less exciting than on Wednesday 😉 I watched some episodes of Grey’s Anatomy or Heroes, I guess…
Friday, as I already told, was really stressful at work, but at least I learned a lot of new things behind my job. I also managed to become a beta-tester for the new project Joost, which caught my great interest (those guys are great: they’re going to revolutionize the tv as skype did with the phone). The problem now is that I don’t have a winxp computer anymore 😀 I will ask my slave Isabelle to borrow her laptop 😉 . Later (very late) I was too tired to write my post but not enough to not meet a guy, whose name I forgot (or I never knew), for my sexual satisfaction (as Desi and Isa suggested me against my hysteria and menstruation).

Did I say something true?
Oops, I didn’t know I couldn’t talk about sex
(I musta been crazy)
Did I have a point of view?
Oops, I didn’t know I couldn’t talk about you
(What was I thinking)

Yesterday I finally went to IKEA with Isabelle (who was also less hysteric 😉 ) to buy a lot of useless things and the damn new curtains (Isa thinks they could fit very good in a bordello 😉 ). Later Derek visited me and brought an assortment of (Australian) chocolates to kill for good my hysteria 😉 . But the best he could do for me was to say what the main song is (Hombres by Fangoria) of the movie Cachorro:

Hay quién apuesta fuerte y decide quererte
Sabiendo lo fácil que resulta perderte
Sabes que siempre estaré cerca de ti

But after all of these word, after all these songs, only one remains the paradigm of my life right now:

An old man, turned 98
He won the lottery, and died the next day
It’s a black fly in your chardonnay
It’s a death row pardon, two minutes too late
And isn’t it ironic?
Don’t you think?

It’s like rain, on your wedding day
It’s a free ride, when you’ve already paid
It’s the good advice, that you just didn’t take
And who would’ve thought? It figures

Mr. Play-It-Safe, was afraid to fly
He packed his suitcase, and kissed his kids goodbye
He waited his whole damn life, to take that flight
And as the plane crashed down he thought, “Well isn’t this nice?”
And isn’t it ironic?
Don’t you think?

It’s like rain, on your wedding day
It’s a free ride, when you’ve already paid
It’s the good advice, that you just didn’t take
And who would’ve thought? It figures

Well life has a funny way of sneaking up on you
When you think everything’s okay and everything’s going right
And life has a funny way of helping you out
When you think everything’s gone wrong and everything blows up in your face

A traffic jam, when you’re already late
A “No smoking” sign, on your cigarette break
It’s like ten thousand spoons, when all you need is a knife
It’s meeting the man of my dreams, and then meeting his beautiful wife
And isn’t it ironic?
Don’t you think?
A little too ironic?
Yeah I really do think

It’s like rain, on your wedding day
It’s a free ride, when you’ve already paid
It’s the good advice, that you just didn’t take
And who would’ve thought?
It figures

Life has a funny way of sneaking up on you
And life has a funny, funny way, of helping you out
Helping you out

7 thoughts on “Ironic

  1. A passport in 45 minutes from an italian embassy? What are you? God?!
    That’s not surprising, that’s almost impossible! (Ok now I’ve this awful image of Tom Cruise hanging on a rope from the pinkish berlin italian embassy.)

    And happy to hear your hysteria is getting better! But you not hysterical or dramatic or waiting for the marchese … that’s not you!

  2. And … by the way you can install WinXP on your Intel iMac.
    I know it will not have the same shining beauty, but for situation like yours – try a software for Windows only – it’s a pretty elegant solution (Boot Camp or Parallels.)

  3. Ok, I’m going to install BootCamp and Windows (if I manage to find a windows installation cd)… I was reading all the informations on the BootCamp web page and I found this:

    Word to the Wise

    Windows running on a Mac is like Windows running on a PC. That means it’ll be subject to the same attacks that plague the Windows world. So be sure to keep it updated with the latest Microsoft Windows security fixes.

    Hihihi :mrgreen:

  4. You can not be serious! How hard is to find a copy of Windows somewhere or somewhere else?

    Anyhow that “word to the wise” is not to be taken as a joke! I mean it’s serious, we all know how dangerous is to install Windows and secure and safe is Mac.

  5. Of course it will be not difficult to find a copy of windows… Don’t worry, I’m smart enough. I guess… Uh? Ehm…
    If you liked the Word to the Wise, then read this:

    EFI and BIOS

    Macs use an ultra-modern industry standard technology called EFI to handle booting. Sadly, Windows XP, and even the upcoming Vista, are stuck in the 1980s with old-fashioned BIOS. But with Boot Camp, the Mac can operate smoothly in both centuries.

Comments are closed.